Pump House yellow exterior

The Pump House has been providing a venue for community arts activities in Watford for nearly 50 years. We cover all art forms including performance, music, written, spoken and visual art.

Our mission

Our aim is to provide an accessible arts venue for the diverse communities we serve. Our ambition is to become a hub to nurture emerging new talent and to be a champion for the arts in the wider Watford cultural landscape.

As part of this we founded the annual Watford Fringe festival and a young person’s speech festival. We’ve continued to invest in our facilities to make them as accessible as possible for all our users and visitors.

In 2019 we welcomed 16,000 people through our door (active participants and audiences) and hosted 25 different theatrical productions as well as a large range of regular activities. These included those working with children and persons with disabilities as well as specialist artistic groups.

Our Board of Trustees

The Pump House Theatre and Arts Trust is a registered charity and is run by a Board of Trustees:

  • Lee Farman (Chair)
  • Christopher Swallow
  • Jennifer Roberts
  • Roger Pidgeon
  • Marc McDonald
  • Jonathan Sadie
  • Jason Brameld
  • Sally Griffin
  • Anthony Murphy

The Board is supported by a dedicated team of volunteers.

Our patrons

We’re privileged to appoint two fantastic patrons to support our future plans and help raise awareness of the Pump House.

Dan Dark, OBE, Executive Vice President of Worldwide Studio Operations for Warner Brothers, and Chris Luff, MBE, CEO of Watford & West Herts Chamber of Commerce, have already been tremendous supporters of the Pump House so we’re proud to have them join us in these more formal roles.

Our partners

We’re grateful for funding from the following:

  • Covid Appeal – WR3T
  • Covid Recovery – Arts Council
  • Commissioning Framework – Watford Borough Council

And thanks to support from our various partners below.

Individual supporters:

  • Chris Wheeler
  • Kate Flatt
  • Vedi Roy
  • Andrew Sharp
  • Tom Kanji
  • Dillie Keane