In 1940 the Lu Watters' Yerba Buena Jazz Band was formed in revolt against the big band swing of its day. They defiantly rejected what they saw as bland or overly sophisticated written arrangements. Yerba Buena was dedicated to an early, even primitive, jazz style rejecting the Hit Parade of the day for a repertoire from the first quarter of the 20th century.

Line-up: Dave Rance and Mike Barry (trumpets); Goff Dubber (clarinet); George Tidiman (trombone); Tim Huskisson (piano); Nick Singer (banjo); Dave Arnold (sousaphone); Pete Lay (drums)